Usual Questions About The WIC Program

24 May

Who can participate?
As the program’s name implies, the WIC Program is made available to a limited category of children, women, and infants. The women need to be breastfeeding, postpartum, and pregnant; the children are required to be 5 years of age or less; and the infants must be 1 years of age or lower. These Watertown NY WIC participants also have to comply with special guidelines prescribed by the law, namely in terms of income, residency, and nutritional risk.
What do you mean by nutritional risk?
There are 2 classes of nutritional risk recognized by WIC: medical and diet. Medical risks include, among others, child-bearing problems, maternal age, being underweight, and anemia. In comparison, diet risks may include the insufficiency of the participant’s present diet.
The participant’s nutritional risk shall be determined by a healthcare expert , such as a nutritionist or doctor. The US Food and Nutrition Service, coordinating with the local government, has the duty to develop the criteria for ascertaining nutritional risk. The test will be reexamined when necessary to respond to the present needs of the present day.
Who has benefitted?
Recent reports suggest that more than eight million individuals per year benefit from the WIC Program. When the WIC Program began in the early 1970’s, only approximately 85,000 beneficiaries. After a little more than 5 years, the sum amounted to approximately 2 million. After that, the figures have risen consistently.
Most of the participants are classified as children. Of the eight million present participants, more than 4 million are children, approximately 2 million are women, and almost 2,000,000 are infants.
What do they receive?
Beneficiaries normally receive checks and vouchers , which they can use to buy certain types of food products. The kind of food a beneficiary receives shall be based on the nutritional risk he is determined to have. Additionally, a number of local governments are beginning to use cards rather than the traditional vouchers or checks. This improved system shall be implemented nationally in five years.

Comments are closed.